I’m not really sure where to begin with this one. Today, I got an e-mail from one WebnameSolution suggesting a ransom for a domain name I had backordered from GoDaddy.com. Herein lies the e-mail:

Limited Time Offer…!!!
The domain name [deleted] is for sale exclusively by webnamesolution.com. Hurry and take advantage of this limited time special offer $199.95 USD.
Domain Name: [deleted]
Price: $199.95 USD
To purchase this domain and take advantage of this Special Offer click on the link below:
WWW.WEBNAMESOLUTION.COM/PURCHASE
Thank you for your interest.
info@webnamesolution.com

The e-mail address I used for the backorder is one I use specifically for domain names. The domain itself is a rather unique one that I don’t think anyone would know about (I could be very wrong). Suspecting something strange, I began to sleuth the Internet for more information on this WebnameSolution and stumble upon this thread (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=476168) at WebHostingTalk. Apparantly others have also backordered domains with GoDaddy and received these e-mails from one WebnameSolution about the very same domain names they backordered. Suspicious.

So I do a WHOIS, but the information doesn’t connect. It’s registered in Canada and the web hosting service is also located in Canada. I decide to take a closer look at the website and what do I notice? Similarities with GoDaddy. It turns out WebnameSolution is using a rebranded version of GoDaddy’s domain name service. You can easily see this by clicking ‘My Account’ from the homepage.

Something is definitely amiss here. I have WebnameSolution offering an exclusive buyout on the domain name that I want for $199, although their fine print legally states:

2. SELECTION OF A DOMAIN NAME. You acknowledge and agree that we cannot guarantee that you will obtain a desired domain name registration, even if an inquiry indicates that a domain name is available at the time of your application for same. You represent that, to the best of the your knowledge and belief, neither the registration of the domain name nor the manner in which it is directly or indirectly to be used, infringes upon the legal rights of a third party and further, that the domain name is not being registered for nor shall it at any time whatsoever be used for any unlawful purpose.

So that IF I decide to take this exclusive offer, I would have spent $199 in addition to the $18.99 I spent at GoDaddy for their DomainAlert Pro Backordering service, and neither service guarantees the domain name!

Is GoDaddy selling my information to some unknown third party company regarding the specific items I am purchasing? I better read their privacy policy again. Is GoDaddy conspiring with some outside party to try to make even more money? Worst yet, is GoDaddy responsible for bankrolling this WebnameSolution service in order to make even more money in the domain backordering market? All I know is that my purchase information is making it out to another party with specifics (the actual domain name I backordered) without my express permission.

I think I’m done with GoDaddy. Anyone have alternative recommendations?

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>