vibol hou

Warning: Do not visit buddystats.com! Buddystats is a scam!

Update 7/19/2009: It looks like Buddystats is gaining traction. A search on Twitter reveals that users are falling for the phishing scam. A couple of my friends have also received the mysterious URL from their friends. At this point, it looks like they are trying to gather as many passwords as they can. Quite probably for use later on to distribute malware or spam. These guys are slow and deliberate. It would not be a bad idea to change your AOL AIM password if you’ve typed it into a website recently.

Good thing is Google Chrome now marks the domain as malware. However, I’ve seen mention of links now containing direct IP addresses in the URL. Be wary of the scam and let your friends know that Buddystats is a dangerous website!

Just for your edification, here’s what the site looks like:

c871b9c7c7e481cd979e218ae0cb98cb

A moment ago, I got an IM from someone I hardly talk to on AOL Instant Messenger. The message said simply had a link in it:

http://www.buddystats.com/?sn1=mysn&sn2=friendsn

I clicked the link since it was an acquaintance and it presented a tidy looking site–somewhat official looking. There’s a big compare button in the middle that you can press and it will ask for a password. I thought it suspicious so I typed in an incorrect password. No go, I typed in the same bad password a couple more times and it presented a result.

Pretty sly phishers out there. Whatever you do, do not type in your real password. If you already have, go change it _immediately_ or it will use your AIM account to spread itself.


No Comments Yet


There are no comments yet. You could be the first!

Leave a Comment


San PedroAudi Driving ExperienceLaguna BeachThe Huntington LibraryWeekend Project: NemesisLong Beach Cambodian New Year Parade 2008IchiPaintball 6/27/2009Ventura Pier